*+:。.。 My First Model 。.。:+*

The stars have aligned – this week I got a new PC and handed in the final report for a big project which took up a lot of my time. To reward myself, I decided to take the this afternoon off to learn some 3D modelling. I have never done any kind of modelling before, but it’s interested me for a while. I’ve wanted to make Dreamcast-style models for a long time, but never had a PC powerful enough. I don’t know anyone who does any modelling, so decided to follow a tutorial; I ended up following this one by Intranet Girl. I found I wasn’t able to follow in some places, but ended up with an alright result for my first try in my opinion. I learnt things like modelling, physics, uv, and basic animation. Super fun! I think I’ll try that popular donut tutorial next, which everyone seems to do. The whole experience of 3D modelling brought me back to when I was still learning to code, and the irritation that came alongside it. I found it super fun for that reason I think. Here is a little mini version of my render (I had a really hard time making it transparent):

Example image